Song of the Day

Nelly Furtado’s Try. I don’t recall much from her second album but this song has always been wondefully soothing to me. I believe this was her woke album because it also had that other song that highlighted her Portuguese heritage while this music video focused on the struggle that immigrating to a new country can bring to a marriage.  Visually the mv depicted how I always imagine settler life was like but not just pre-Canada but also during the expansions to the west .

I love the lyrics for this song. I feel more attuned to raw and random/confusing lyrical expression (lol) and this song is raw in a very simplistic manner. There’s no word play involved as the song is strikingly honest at it’s core as Nelly bemoans her failings but also how that ultimately becomes a realization of the strength that can be found as well.

I’ll leave you with my favourite lyric in this song:

All of the things we want each other to be
We never will be
And that’s wonderful, and that’s life

-Nat

Leave a Reply

